Leave a comment

Thank you, world.

The first song or album that I remember buying with my very own money was the album The Head and the Heart by….The Head and the Heart. Trippy, right? I guess they didn’t plan on making more albums. The story behind this choice brings back some really good and a few  bad memories. The first time I ever heard this band was off of a mixed CD that my friend Emma Tatge gave me. Middle school was a preeetttty bad time in my life and I wasn’t really convinced that anybody really liked me but Emma decided to make me multiple CD’s of some of her favorite songs and I don’t think I can possibly express how much this meant to me. (Thanks Emma!).  The CD’s are what developed the taste in music that I have today. Indy-folk-pop? I guess that’s right. The Avett Brothers, Mumford and Sons, Kimya Dawson, BOY, The Moldy Peaches, The Head and the Heart, and multiple other great artists were on those CD’s. To this day, I still listen to most of them. I would also like to say that I liked this genre of music before everybody else did so everybody else can now consider me the hipster-music-queen. Just kidding. I’m not kidding.  

This purchase was electronic and not actually a physical album but you old timers can get over it. I think I was in 8th grade and we were getting ready to fly overseas to visit my dad’s family and the trip was going to take over 24 hours so I wanted some music to listen to…pretty logical, right? Well, not according to my dad. He could believe that I wanted to spend $15 dollars on an album you couldn’t even hold! My only choice was to buy it off of itunes with his credit card and pay him back. Reluctantly, I did so and I’m pretty glad I used my own money. My parents weren’t against the type of music or anything. In fact, my mom is always pretty happy to hear me play it on guitar for her, but as business professors, they sometimes can be a pretty cheap logical.To this day, whenever I listen to The Head and the Heart, I’m proud of who I am and who I was at the time that I bought the album, even if I’m a little bit embarrassed by some of the stupid stuff I did.

It’s kind of strange how music can bring back so many strong feelings. A bunch of controlled vibrations traveling through my ear buds can make me remember nearly everything from years ago, yet I still can’t remember what I ate for lunch yesterday! Isn’t that crazy?! Music is crazy. Thank you for music, world.

Leave a Reply

