1 Comment

don’t judge me.

First of all, I’m sorry for the late response. Disney trip is over but now I’m with my parents in Florida and I don’t have access to a computer still, so I won’t be writing too much because I hate writing paragraphs on my phone.

Okay, now on to the real stuff: racism. In my opinion, this incident at OU, while obviously terrible and offensive, was a good thing. Before you judge me, hear me out. An astounding number of white Americans believe that since the law technically gives every race equal freedoms and the official Civil Rights movement is over that racism doesn’t exist anymore. Even many educated Americans believe this, but it’s incidents like the one at OU that challenge this belief. These men are (becoming) educated, they were the leaders of their university, and quite frankly, they are a major part of this country’s future. If people with this much opportunity and power still have underlying racism in their hearts, then are we really a better world than we were 50 years ago?

Back to my point of this situation being a good thing…if this incident wasn’t shown all over the media and if attention wasn’t brought to the engrained racism in so many communities, how long would we just let things go without doing anything? Obviously I don’t support what SAE did but in a way, I’m glad it happened for the betterment of society.

One comment on “don’t judge me.

  1. When I first read that you thought of the incident was a good thing, my heart dropped to the floor. However, your redeemed yourself in the best way possible and I actually agree with you. I’m currently at a point in my life where social networking is teaching me more and more about my African American culture. I’ve seen people tweet things like, “if you’re a suspicious looking thug and a you act up when a cop approaches you, then you deserve to be shot.” I can’t tell you how much this bothers me. It’s not so much the concept of racism that’s offensive in my opinion. But even worse, it’s like people are cursed with stupidity. Racism is ignorance. Sometimes it takes media coverage to make people aware of how bad things actually are. But anywho, you really used some good diction in this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

