Leave a comment

Granola.

Transcendentalism is pretty interesting to me. Not because it embodies most of what I believe in but because so many people live their lives in a way conducive with these ideals and don’t even know what transcendentalism is. So here is me explaining transcendentalism to all those folks.

You know those “granola” people that go hiking all the time and eat really well and and commit themselves to living a healthy life and all of that nonsense? The ones that get a degree in philosophy and now have to live at their parent’s house while they work a job they don’t really like while still writing their ideas on paper? Those people kind of embody transcendentalism, but even they could be considered too mainstream in this society growing with such populations.  But I think that’s about as close as I can get to it. Here are my criteria:

1) you need to like nature or at least be able to live in a house that’s close to the woods but basically in town ( looking at you, Thoreau)

2) you need to do what you think is right all the time, not because it’s necessarily allowed but because you believe in doing your own deeds. The you-do-you philosophy.

3) don’t be content with current society. Question everything that builds our foundation.

My transcendentalist reference in pop culture is a song titled “Tree Hugger” by Kimya Dawson. I’ve attached the lyrics and it’s pretty obvious how it references nature and nonconformity. All of the different parts of nature wish they had a different niche.

Tree Hugger”

(performed by Antsy Pants)

The flower said, “I wish I was a tree”

The tree said, “I wish I could be

A different kind of tree”

The cat wished that it was a bee

The turtle wished that it could fly

Really high into the sky

Over rooftops and then dive

Deep into the sea

And in the sea there is a fish

A fish that has a secret wish

A wish to be a big cactus

With a pink flower on it

And in the sea there is a fish

A fish that has a secret wish

A wish to be a big cactus

With a pink flower on it

And the flower

Would be its offering

Of love to the desert

And the desert

So dry and lonely

That the creatures all

Appreciate the effort

Et le jackalope a dit

“Je voudrais être un yeti

Pour voler dans la nuit

Et m’en aller loin d’ici”

Mais le yeti a dit

“Je voudrais être un monstre marin

Pour pouvoir rentrer dans la mer

De tous les requins”

And the rattlesnake said

“I wish I had hands so

I could hug you like a man”

And then the cactus said

“Don’t you understand

My skin is covered with sharp spikes

That’ll stab you like a thousand knives.

A hug would be nice

But hug my flower with your eyes”

The flower said, “I wish I was a tree”

The tree said, “I wish I could be

A different kind of tree”

The cat wished that it was a bee

The turtle wished that it could fly

Really high into the sky

Over rooftops and then dive

Deep into the sea

And in the sea there is a fish

A fish that has a secret wish

A wish to be a big cactus

With a pink flower on it

And in the sea there is a fish

A fish that has a secret wish

A wish to be a big cactus

With a pink flower on it

And the flower

Would be its offering

Of love to the desert

And the desert

So dry and lonely

That the creatures all

Appreciate the effort

Leave a Reply

