7 Comments

Rivers and Roads

One of my favorite songs of all times is “Rivers and Roads” by The Head and the Heart. Once you listen and pay attention to the lyrics, you’ll see how this song is becoming more and more pertinent as seniors in high school. Check it out:

A year from now we’ll all be gone
All our friends will move away
And they’re goin’ to better places
But our friends will be gone away

Nothin’ is as it has been
And I miss your face like hell
And I guess it’s just as well
But I miss your face like hell

[Chanting]

Been talkin’ ’bout the way things change
And my family lives in a different state
If you don’t know what to make of this
Then we will not relate
So if you don’t know what to make of this
Then we will not relate

[Chanting]

Rivers and roads
Rivers and roads
Rivers ’til I reach you
[Repeat 9x]

If you think of this song in terms of us all moving away to college, it hits you pretty hard. I have a few friends that actually cry every time I play this song in my car. It’s true; we are all moving away in about a year, and it’s really for the better, but it’s really going to suck. The thing I really like about this song despite its sad tone is that it makes everything a little less intense. Through the beautiful harmonizing and repetition, things don’t seem quite as intimidating.

On the other hand, I feel like if I listen to this song next year while actually in college, the opposite effect will happen. It’ll probably make me miss everybody and everything that I’ve grown so comfortable with, but maybe even that could be for the better. I’ll finally appreciate what I have right now at a whole new level. So maybe that’s the power that this song has, it makes me sad, relaxed, optimistic, lonely, and thankful all at once. I bet Nicki Minaj can’t do that.

7 comments on “Rivers and Roads

  1. Oh my goodness! I love that you wrote about this song! I love the Head and the Heart so much! I wrote about their other song “Lost in my Mind.” I also really love what you had to say about the song. It’s sad, but kind of happy, that we’ll all move on to different places, and the people we’ve grown up with will just be Facebook friends. It’s so weird to think about because it’s all kind of happening so fast, but it’s exciting. It’s a mix between being sick of high school and ready to move on with your life, and not wanting to leave because that’s been your whole life.

    Like

  2. I LOVE THIS SONG. In a very depressingish sort of way. I was painting, maybe a couple days before this school year started, and this song came on my pandora station. It’s safe to say that it hit me pretty hard– I bawled. The unknown and inevitable are both just so REAL, and they keeps getting closer. Like you were saying, this song fills me with all these different emotions when I listen to it, because, among many things, the idea of having miles in between people who were in the same classroom as me only a second ago, is, well, just freaky. Likewise, you’re also right: Nicki Minaj CANT do that.

    Like

  3. Ooo, the Head and the Heart. My sophomore year I sang a duet to “Ghosts” and I remember the lyrics gave me the same feeling. Being a sophomore, couldn’t really relate to wanting to cry about leaving for college; I knew I was going to college but I had no idea why or where. Now that I have plans, I’m really excited to get to leave. You made me think about not only leaving but the effects of no longer being in high school. No longer seeing the janitors that greet us, classmates that we see everyday but don’t know their names… It seems like a small thing now, but they’ll all cross our minds once or twice eventually.

    Like

  4. ^^before this, the only song I’d heard from the Head and the Heart was “Ghosts.” I quite like that song, and now that I’ve heard this one, I might go out and listen to some more from the band. Anyways, both “Ghosts” and this song have wonderful tunes, but both have lyrics that make me feel a little sad–a little lonely. Sometimes those are the best types of songs though; you end up dancing in your seat to words that would otherwise leave you down in the dumps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

