Leave a comment

Tower of Power

You’re Still a Young Man-Tower of Power

You’re still a young man
Baby Oo oo don’t waste your time.
You’re still a young man
Baby Oo oo don’t waste your time.
Down on my knees
Whole heart in hand
I was accused of being too young
But I’m not so young
Can’t you understand
That I think like a man
You’re still a young man
Baby Oo oo don’t waste your time.
(Oh No Baby)
You’re still a young man
Baby (I’m not wastin my time)Oo oo don’t waste your time.
Back, once again
Oo Oo Just beggin you please
Darlin, think twice,
About me
Cause I’m not so bad
I could make you happy
I’m not a bad man
You’re too young to love (If you and I could be together)
You’re too young to love (I’d get to you through any weather)
You’re too young to love (I love you yes I love you Oo Lady)
You’re too young to love (I’ll never never leave you alone yeah)

You’re too young Ooo Ooo (You’re mine Oh sweet lady)
Don’t waste your time
The damage is done
You see that you were wrong

You wake up wonderin just
How well I’ve done

Well I’ve done alright
Yes there are some girls but you know
I dropped them on site
Just for you

Becuase I love you.
You’re still a young man
Baby Oo oo don’t waste your time.

This song, “You’re Still a Young Man” by Tower of Power, is part of their 1972 album, Bump City. As a trumpet player I couldn’t help but write about Mic Gillette, and I couldn’t help but find the song that showcased his abilities the most as a trumpet player. Gillette soars into the intro of this song with not only incredible tone, but incredibly perfect tuning as well, even into the higher register of the instrument. When the other trumpet player comes in to harmonize with Gillette, you know things are getting real in terms of musical quality, as both trumpets are almost perfectly in tune in most videos of the performance.

Aside from Mic’s playing, the song itself is also very interesting as one of Tower of Power’s more calming and smooth songs as opposed to their normal upbeat R&B. Looking at the song lyrics alone can be kind of confusing but listening to the song makes clear the two conversations that are happening. There’s one between the singer and the girl he wants, and one between the singer and a boy that’s trying to be with the girl the singer wants. Obviously, the singer must have done something to push the girl away from him, but you can hear in his voice his yearning for her and dismay at the boy he thinks is incapable of loving her as well as the singer could.

This song, although kind of depressing based on the lyrics, is extremely calming and I could probably fall asleep while listening to this any day of the week. The leader singer’s voice is soothing and not harsh at all. The instruments, including Mic of course, act as the icing on the cake. While they make the song what it is, they don’t overpower the singer in any way. The backup singers are something that I wish more popular songs had nowadays and in this song, they definitely add another tier to the cake.

While Mic Gillette is no longer here to make beautiful music like this anymore, his legacy as an incredible trumpet player will live on.

 

Leave a Reply

